Your Cart

A Recorder Romp

Alison Melville, recorder soloist

A Recorder Romp

Thu Feb 8, Fri Feb 9, Sat Feb 10, 2018 at 8pm, Sun Feb 11 at 3:30pm Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity-St. Paul's Centre. Call (416) 964-6337 Map

Download the Program Notes Download the Program Listing

Explode your preconceptions of the recorder with this concert of delightful and daring concertos.

“Melville shapes the phrases marvelously; music, breath, and ornaments are as one. This is art beyond time—the moment might last forever.” – Early Music America

If you thought the recorder was just an instrument for school concerts, think again. Virtuoso performer Alison Melville joins a select chamber group of Tafelmusik musicians to present the baroque recorder. Radiant, whimsical, melancholic, fun, bright—this is the nerdy recorder of your youth, but restored to its original glory.

Pyrotechnic concertos by Vivaldi and Telemann reveal the thrilling possibilities baroque composers explored in writing for the recorder, while Van Eyck’s charming variations from his Garden of Delights are inspired by the bewitching song of the nightingale.

Pre-concert Chats

From Pleasure Garden to Pietà: Chamber Music of Vivaldi and Telemann
Join us for a free pre-concert chat one hour before the show with soloist Alison Melville and Tafelmusik oboist Marco Cera.

  • van Eyck The English Nightingale, for solo recorder
  • Vivaldi “Spring” from The Four Seasons (Elisa Citterio, violin soloist)*
  • Telemann Concerto for recorder & bassoon in F Major, TWV 52:F1 (Alison Meville & Dominic Teresi, soloists)
  • Vivaldi Concerto for recorder, oboe, violin & bassoon in G Minor, RV 107


  • Telemann Quartet for recorder, oboe, violin & continuo in G Major, TWV 43:G6**
  • Telemann Concerto for 3 violins in F Major, from Musique de table, Book II (Elisa Citterio, Julia Wedman & Cristina Zacharias, violin soloists)
  • Vivaldi Concerto for recorder in G Major, RV 443 (Alison Melville, soloist)
* Recorded by Tafelmusik
** First time performed on the Tafelmusik stage
Note: Vivaldi Spring recorded by Jeanne Lamon as soloist

Concert run time: approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes including intermission. Final run time will be confirmed the week of the concert.