Directed by Elisa Citterio


Thu Sep 19, Fri Sep 20, Sat Sep 21 at 8pm, Sun Sept 22 at 3:30pm Koerner Hall, TELUS Centre Map SUBSCRIBE NOW
Tafelmusik plays Tchaikovsky for the first time, alongside inventive string symphonies by Mendelssohn. 
We open our new season with an exciting, innovative program that extends the sound of Tafelmusik's instruments into an era where few period orchestras have gone before—the world of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. 
Join us for this journey to the future, where bold and inventive string symphonies written by a teenaged Felix Mendelssohn lead the way to Tchaikovsky’s sumptuous Serenade for Strings. Referencing the musical past with its classical sonata form while showcasing the depths and dynamics so loved by Russian Romantics, the Serenade includes elegant textures, famous melodies, and an exuberant folk-inspired finale. Don’t miss this chance to hear Tafelmusik in new territory, expanding our range without losing our signature spirit and style.
What's interesting about this concert:
1. This concert marks Tafelmusik’s first time playing music of the late romantic era.
2. As a special bonus, you’ll hear a new arrangement of Mendelssohn’s Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, written by Carlo Citterio, Elisa Citterio's composer brother. Get to know Carlo by reading his biography here.
3. A world premiere by Canadian composer Andrew Balfour, in keeping with our season theme of the new informing the old, and the old informing the new. 
Pre-concert Chat
Join us one hour before each concert for a free pre-concert chat with cellist, gambist, and researcher Kate Bennett Wadsworth.
  • Mendelssohn Sinfoniesatz in C Minor (1823)
  • Mendelssohn String symphony no. 7 in D Minor (1821/22)
  • Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1842), arranged by Carlo Citterio


  • Andrew Balfour Pyotr's Dream (2019) – World premiere
  • Tchaikovsky Serenade for String Orchestra, op. 48 (1880)

 Concert run time: approximately 2 hours, including a 25-minute intermission.

Watch and listen to a few samples of what you will hear in this concert.

Photo: Orange Dawn, Dave Sandford