Tafelmusik meets Dvorak

Reserve now with a Digital Pass. Single tickets available March 17, 2022.

Premiering April 7, 2022, 8pm EDT Online Buy a Digital Season Pass

Leila Schayegh guest director

Online Premiere: April 7, 2022, 8pm EDT

Discover the lush lyricism of music from the Romantic era performed on period instruments.

Black and white photograph of violinist Leila Schayegh--a profile shot of a woman with short, dark hair, wearing a light blazer as her violin rests against her collar. Photo by Marco Borggreve.
Leila Schayegh. Photo by Marco Borggreve

Known for her “ravishing legato cantabile” (The Strad), violinist Leila Schayegh makes her Tafelmusik debut as guest director for this concert of 19th-century chamber music — a sequel to Tafelmusik’s 2019 foray into the music of Tchaikovsky, which was met with rave reviews.

Dvorak’s famous Serenade for strings is at times tender and lilting, at others animated and optimistic. The work is paired with the Nonet, op. 38 for winds and strings by the French composer Louise Farrenc, a trailblazing woman who became the toast of Paris following the work’s triumphant premiere in 1849.

Digital Season Passes are available now! Don’t wait for tickets to go on sale, buy a pass today and gain access to all current releases and more. Single ticket access for this concert will be made available on March 17, 2022.


Louise Farrenc Nonet, op. 38

Antonin Dvorak Serenade for strings, op. 22