Spotlight 15

An aerial photograph of people riding bicycles with colourful paint splatters over the image..

Buy a Digital Season Pass to watch on demand

Premiered November 18, 2021, 8pm ET Online Buy a Digital Season Pass

Elisa Citterio director

Online Premiere: November 18, 2021, 8pm ET

Experience the artistry of Tafelmusik musicians in this playful showcase of sounds and styles, from baroque to galant. 

Fourteen soloists and thirteen concertos are featured in this playful mix-and-match showcase of Tafelmusik’s artistry.  Music Director Elisa Citterio conceived this concert as a challenge to the musicians, inviting each of them to flex their musical muscles as soloists and leaders. The program pairs movements from different concertos — occasionally even by different composers—creating a kaleidoscope of sounds and styles, from baroque to galant.  

Spotlight 15 proves that the violin is not the only star in the galaxy, as the viola, cello, double bass, oboe, bassoon, and harpsichord take turns at centre stage. Collaboratively designed with input from the orchestra, you will learn something new about each of the featured soloists.


Digital Season Passes are available now! Buy a pass today to gain access to these benefits:

  • More Tafelmusik– all eight digital concerts
  • Easier access– concerts appear in your viewer on premiere day
  • On demand viewing– watch whenever you want through to August 31, 2022
  • Priority access to live concert tickets—when announced


The following ticket types are available for this program. All tickets include a pre-concert chat and the digital house program. Please note that a $3 service charge will apply to your purchase. 

  • Deluxe: Enjoy up to 7 days of unlimited viewing—from Nov 18, 8pm ET to Nov 25, 7:59pm ET
  • Standard: Enjoy up to 48 hours of unlimited viewing—from Nov 18, 8pm ET to Nov 20, 7:59pm ET
  • General: One-time, time-limited access for this concert viewing. Your viewing time will be limited from 8pm to 11pm ET on Nov 18.


Whether you’re returning or joining us for the very first time, here’s what you can expect from Tafelmusik’s digital concert experience:

  • High-resolution video and audio 
  • A digital Pre-Concert Chat to learn more about the music and artists featured
  • A digital House Program with repertoire and program notes
  • See the orchestra members and their instruments up-close and personal
  • Watch on any compatible browser—or, connect or cast to your television


Georg Muffat Orchestral suite “Sperantis Gaudia”: Ouverture

Georg Philipp Telemann Concerto for 2 violins in G Major: Grave  –  Allegro

Telemann Concerto for 2 violins & bassoon in D Major: Adagio – Allegro assai

Johann Sebastian Bach Concerto for viola in E-flat Major, after BWV 1053: Allegro (premiere of a new transcription by Brandon Chui)

Johann David Heinichen Concerto for oboe, bassoon, cello & harpsichord in G Major: Andante – Vivace

Jean-Philippe Rameau Pièces de clavecin en concert: La Forqueray

Giuseppe Valentini Concerto for 4 violins in A Minor, op. 7, no. 11: Largo – Allegro

Giuseppe Tartini  Concerto for violin in A Major: Largo andante

Antonio Vivaldi Concerto for 2 cellos in G Minor: Allegro – Largo

Vivaldi Concerto for bassoon in G Minor: Largo – Allegro

Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf Concerto for double bass in E-Flat Major: Allegro moderato

František Brixi Concerto for viola in C Major: Adagio

Giuseppe Battista Sammartini Concerto grosso in A Major, op 2, no. 1: Allegro