Spotlight 15

Elisa Citterio, director and curator

A red, orange, and black aura photograph of several jellyfish swimming through water

Single tickets on sale June 3. Subscribe now to save.

Thu June 24, 2021 at 8pm EDT Online

Elisa Citterio, director and curator

Experience the artistry of each Tafelmusik musician in this playful showcase of sounds and styles, from baroque to galant. 

Fifteen soloists and fourteen concertos are featured in this playful mix-and-match showcase of Tafelmusik’s artistry. Music Director Elisa Citterio conceived this concert as a challenge to each musician, inviting them to flex their musical muscles as soloists and leaders. The program pairs movements from different concertos—occasionally even by different composers—creating a kaleidoscope of sounds and styles, from baroque to galant.  

Think the violin is the only star in the galaxy? Spotlight 15 proves otherwise, as the viola, cello, double bass, oboe, bassoon, and harpsichord take turns at centre stage. Collaboratively designed with input from the orchestra, you will learn something new and deeply personal about each of the featured soloists.

Extended Viewing + Digital House Program
Access one-week extended viewing with a Standard+ subscription or a Deluxe single ticket, along with a digital house program. Standard subscribers and regular single ticket buyers are able to access the concert for 48 hours from the original broadcast time.
  • Pisendel Concerto for 2 oboes & bassoon in E-flat Major
  • Bach Concerto for viola in E-flat Major, after BWV 1053 (premiere of a new transcription by Brandon Chui)
  • Telemann Concerto for 2 violin in G Major
  • Telemann Concerto for oboe d’amore in A Major
  • Telemann Concerto for 2 violins & bassoon in D Major
  • Heinichen Concerto for oboe, violin, bassoon & harpsichord in G Major
  • Valentini Concerto for 4 violins in A Minor
  • Vivaldi Concerto for 2 cellos in G Minor
  • Vivaldi Concerto for bassoon in G Minor
  • Tartini Concerto for violin in A Major
  • Rameau Pièces de clavecin en concert: La Forqueray
  • Dittersdorf Concerto for double bass no. 2 in E-flat Major
  • Brix Concerto for viola in C Major
  • Sammartini Concerto grosso in A Major, op. 2, no. 1

Concert run time: approximately 1 hour and 25 minutes