Mozart Together

Thu Oct 1 at 8pm EST Online Buy Now

Elisa Citterio director

Following many months of isolation and remote music making, the musicians of Tafelmusik gather for an emotional return to the concert stage.

This opening program of our reimagined 2020/21 season is devoted to chamber music originally intended to be played in private homes and salon gatherings among friends and family. Scored for two to eight instruments, these intimate works—almost all of them new to our musicians—capture the immediacy and connection we’ve all been craving.

We’ll hear a more playful side of titans like Mozart, Beethoven, and Boccherini, including a lively movement from Mozart’s famous Sinfonia concertante in E-flat Major in an unusual arrangement for six string instruments, along with music by Družeckŷ, Sperger, Michael Haydn, and Sphor—classical composers eclipsed by these giants. Open your ears to a smorgasbord of sounds and instrument combinations in what promises to be an unforgettable homecoming.

Please note: single ticket purchasers will be able to re-access the concert for a full 24 hours after the original broadcast time. You can revisit your ticket link, contained in your confirmation email, to watch until October 2, 2020 at 7:59pm EST.


  • Mozart Duo for bassoon & cello in B-flat Major, K.292*
  • Mozart Oboe quartet in F Major, K.370
  • Mozart Grande sestetto concertante in E-flat Major, after K.364*
  • M. Haydn Divertimento in C Major, MH 179*
  • Boccherini Quintet in D Minor, op. 13, no. 4, G.280*
  • Družecký Oboe quintet in C Major*
  • Sperger Romance in C Major for double bass & strings*
  • Beethoven Duo for viola & cello in E-flat Major, “for two obbligato eyeglasses,” WoO 32*
  • Beethoven Trio in C Major, op. 87*
  • Spohr Double quartet no. 2 in E-flat Major, op. 77*

*First performance on the Tafelmusik stage