Your Cart


Season opener directed by Elisa Citterio

Mozart 40

70% sold out!

Thu Sep 20, Fri Sep 21, Sat Sep 22 at 8pm, Sun Sep 23, 2018 at 3:30pm Koerner Hall, TELUS Centre Map BUY NOW SUBSCRIBE AND SAVE

Elisa Citterio, director and violin soloist
Dominic Teresi, bassoon soloist

Mozart’s evocative 40th Symphony opens Tafelmusik’s 40th season.

You’re invited to the opening of our 40th season! Mozart’s arresting 40th Symphony is the centrepiece of the program, taking you on a journey of great beauty, urgency, and passion. This music pushed the boundaries of classical style and still feels as bold and extraordinary today.
Music Director Elisa Citterio takes centre stage as soloist in Tafelmusik’s first-ever performance of Mozart’s vivacious Violin Concerto in D Major, the launch of a new cycle of Mozart concertos. Join us for a celebration of milestones and Mozart.
What's interesting about this concert?
  • The 40th Symphony is one of the composer's final, and most popular, symphonies and one of only two written in a minor key (we're performing the other in The Hunt: Mozart & Haydn in April).
  • The arresting and highly personal 40th Symphony was written at a time of great turmoil — Mozart was in serious debt, his wife was ill, and their fourth child had just died at the age of 6 months.
  • Mozart composed all 5 of his violin concertos in just 6 months (when he was 19!) — and it is likely that he performed them all himself.
  • In these concerts, Tafelmusik Music Director Elisa Citterio is the soloist for our first-ever performances of the vivacious Violin Concerto in D Major. She will be incorporating cadenzas composed by her brother, the Italian composer Carlo Citterio.
  • Mozart Overture to La finta gardiniera, K. 196 + 207a ♫
  • Mozart Concerto for violin in D Major, K.218 (Elisa Citterio, soloist) ♫
  • Mozart Concerto for bassoon in B-flat Major (Dominic Teresi, soloist)
  • Mozart Symphony no. 40 in G Minor*

* Recorded by Tafelmusik
♫ First performance by Tafelmusik

Join us one hour before the show for a free pre-concert chat titled "Mozart – the teenager and the master" with Rick Phillips.

You will need to sign-up for a free Spotify account to listen to full tracks.

Concert run time: approximately 90 minutes plus a 25-minute intermission