Il Seicento

Il Seicento

Thu Feb 18, 2021 at 8pm EST Online

Elisa Citterio director

Experience innovative music by trendsetting Italian composers who ushered in the new baroque style during the 1600s.

Join us as we explore the ambitious, experimental energy of the music scene in 17th-century Italy (Il Seicento), where the new baroque style was just starting to emerge. Curated entirely by Elisa Citterio, this program includes music by early innovators like Marini, Castello, Kapsperger, and Falconieri, who were at the vanguard of European musical trends. The music they composed was fresh, exhilarating, and daring in its use of free form and improvisation.

Pieces composed for one to seven musicians and scored for various combinations of strings, lute, harpsichord, and organ are woven together by improvisatory threads. Discover these intimate dialogues by 17th-century composers whose musical language leaves plenty of room for experimentation and dazzling ornamentation.

Access one-week extended viewing with a Standard+ subscription. Standard subscribers and single ticket buyers are able to access the concert for 48 hours from the original broadcast time.

Elisa Citterio, Patricia Ahern & Christopher Verrette violins
Brandon Chui viola
Felix Deak viola da gamba
Keiran Campbell violoncello
Pippa Macmillan violone
Lucas Harris theorbo & guitar
Christopher Bagan harpsichord & organ


  • Maurizio Cazzati Capriccio sopra sette note (1659)

  • Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger Sinfonia XVII à 4 con due bassi (1615)

  • Kapsperger Canario (1640)

  • Kapsperger Sinfonia XIII à un canto (1615)

  • Andrea Falconieri Canzon à 3 detta L’infante archibizzara (1650)

  • Falconieri Passacalle

  • Falconieri Ciaccona

  • Biagio Marini Capriccio, che due violini sonana quattro parti (1629)

  • Marini Passacalio à 4 (1655)

  • Marini Sonata sopra la Monica (1629)

  • Domenico Gabrielli Sonata a violoncello solo, con il basso continuo

  • Alessandro Piccinini Partite variate sopra quest’Aria francese detta l’Alemana (1623)

  • Giovanni Maria Trabaci Gagliarda terza (1603)

  • Dario Castello Sonata XV à 4 (1629)

  • Marco Uccellini Aria sopra la Bergamesca (1642)

Concert run time: approximately 70 minutes