Directed by Ivars Taurins / Tafelmusik Chamber Choir



Thu May 21, Fri May 22, Sat May 23 at 8pm, Sun May 24 at 3:30pm Koerner Hall, TELUS Centre Map
This event has been cancelled. 
Please see our patron message regarding COVID-19 here.

Directed by Ivars Taurins
Amanda Forsythe, soprano
Thomas Hobbs, tenor
Tafelmusik Chamber Choir
Savour this banquet of music by George Frideric Handel, one of the greatest musical dramatists of all time.
Few composers in the Western tradition explored the depths of human experience and emotion as thoroughly and dramatically as Handel. In all his theatrical music, Handel responded to the uncertainties and beauty of the world around him by creating music that explores the full spectrum of human experience, from the greatest joy to the most poignant tragedy. 
You'll hear it all in the return of this popular concert, created by Ivars Taurins from some of his favourite moments in Handel’s oratorios. It's a program devoted to things of Heaven and a higher power in the first half, and things of this Earth, of Love, in the second. An original look at music written two hundred years ago, in a program that still resonates with contemporary relevance today.
What's interesting about this concert:
  1. It was a tradition in the 18th-century to create pasticcios: new operas and oratorios assembled by borrowing from pre-existing works. Ivars Taurins has followed this tradition and created his own pasticcio for this concert.
  2. Amanda Forsythe and Thomas Hobbs are both renowned internationally for their interpretations of Handel, and return to Tafelmusik after their joint appearance in Alexander’s Feast in 2017. 
  3. This program will be recorded live, for release on the Tafelmusik Media label, as the first recording featuring both Elisa Citterio and Ivars Taurins, with the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir. 
Pre-concert Chat
Join us one hour before each concert for a free pre-concert chat with soprano and longtime Tafelmusik guest artist and friend Ann Monoyios.
G.F. Handel
  • Chorus “Your harps and cymbals sound,” from Solomon
  • Tenor Air “Tune your harps,” from Esther
  • Soprano Air “Sweet bird,” from L’Allegro
  • Tenor Air/Chorus “Sound an alarm,” from Judas Maccabeus
  • Soprano Air “In Jehovah’s awful sight,” from Deborah
  • Chorus “Throughout the land Jehovah praise,” from Solomon
  • Chorus “Doleful tidings,” from Deborah
  • Tenor Air “Hateful man,” from Alexander Balus
  • Soprano Recit “Shall Cleopatra ever smile again,” from Alexander Balus
  • Soprano Air “O take me,” from Alexander Balus
  • Tenor Air “To God who made the radiant sun,” from Alexander Balus
  • Chorus “Sun, moon and stars,” from Alexander Balus
  • Tenor Air “Golden columns,” from Solomon
  • Soprano Air “Prophetic raptures,” from Joseph & His Brethren
  • Chorus “Hallelujah, Amen,” from Judas Maccabeus


  • Chorus “Now love that everlasting boy,” from Semele
  • Chorus “Jealousy, infernal pest” from Hercules
  • Tenor Recit “Now all this scene,” from Semele
  • Tenor Air “Where’er you walk,” from Semele
  • Soprano Air “Myself I shall adore,” from Semele
  • Chorus “Wanton god of amorous fires,” from Hercules
  • Tenor Arioso “Ah whither is she gone,” from Semele
  • Chorus “Draw the tear from hopeless love,” from Solomon
  • Duet “Who calls my parting soul,” from Esther
  • Chorus “Crown with festal pomp,” from Hercules
  • Duet “As steals the morn,” from L’Allegro
  • Chorus “The mighty power/Give glory,” from Athalia

 Concert run time: approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes, including a 25-minute intermission.

Watch and listen to a few samples of what you will hear in this concert.

Photo: Peaches and Hydrangeas After G.G., Paulette Tavormina