J.S. Bach: The Circle of Creation

Narrated by Blair Williams

J. S. Bach The Circle of Creation

Subscriptions now on sale!

Wed Mar 14 at 7pm, Thu Mar 15, Fri Mar 16, Sat Mar 17, 2018 at 8pm, Sun Mar 18 at 3:30pm Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity-St. Paul's Centre Map Learn more about subscriptions

Series 1, 2, 3, 5

Celebrate the genius of Bach, and the stories behind his inspiration.

“In these hands, Bach’s music feels more alive than ever.” – The Globe and Mail

Alison Mackay’s acclaimed J.S. Bach: The Circle of Creation returns, following its premiere performances in 2014/15. This multimedia creation combines text, music, and stunning projected video and images to explore the world of the artisans—papermakers, violin carvers, string spinners, and performers—who helped J.S. Bach realize his musical genius. Don’t miss your opportunity to see this all-Bach program, performed entirely from memory, before it tours to Australia!

J.S. Bach: The Circle of Creation blends 21st-century technology with an exploration of the tradition and skill of old-world craftspeople and artisans. Like its predecessors, The Galileo Project and House of Dreams, this presentation redefines the concert experience.

Program includes:

  • Bach Brandenburg Concerto no. 3
  • Bach Orchestral Suite no. 1 in C Major
  • Bach Excerpts from Goldberg Variations

Created, programmed, and scripted by Alison Mackay

Narrated by Blair Williams
Directed by Elisa Citterio
Marshall Pynkoski, Stage Director
Glenn Davidson, Production Designer & Technical Director
Raha Javanfar, Projections Designer

Pre-Concert Chats
Join us for a free pre-concert chat one hour before the show with show creator Alison Mackay and special guests.

Concert run time: Our best estimate at this time is approximately 2 hours including intermission. Final run time will be confirmed the week of the concert.