A Joyous Welcome

Directed by Elisa Citterio

A Joyous Welcome

Subscriptions now on sale!

Thu Sep 21, Fri Sep 22, Sat Sep 23 at 8pm, Sun Sep 24 at 3:30pm Koerner Hall, TELUS Centre Map

Tue Sep 26 at 8pm Toronto Centre for the Arts, George Weston Recital Hall Map Learn more about subscriptions

Series 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7

Join Tafelmusik’s new Music Director Elisa Citterio for this gala season opening concert featuring performances of Handel, Vivaldi, and Rameau.

“Elisa Citterio tackled the endlessly unfolding, seemingly unstoppable invention … with infectious enthusiasm.” – The Scotsman

Fanfares herald the new season and Tafelmusik’s new Music Director, Elisa Citterio! A late summer breeze blows into this gala opening concert with a performance of Vivaldi’s “Summer,” the first in a complete cycle of his The Four Seasons performed this year, showcasing our dynamic new leader. Citterio’s sound has been described as sinuous, supple, varied, and stylish—ingredients that bode well for exciting and incisive performances.

The breeze is not only in the atmosphere—the wind instruments are out in force for the large, brassy orchestra required in Handel’s festive Concerto a due cori, a work that befits this grand occasion as we joyfully celebrate Tafelmusik’s new beginnings under Citterio’s high-energy direction.

Pre-Concert Chats
All ticket holders are invited to attend our free Pre-Concert Chats. Join us one hour before each performance to listen to musicians discuss various aspects of the concert. 

Program includes:

  • Handel Concerto a due cori
  • Vivaldi Summer from The Four Seasons
  • Corelli Concerto grosso
  • Rameau Suite from Les Boréades

Concert run time: Our best estimate at this time is approximately 2 hours including intermission. Final run time will be confirmed the week of the concert.