A Bach Tapestry

Directed by Ivars Taurins

A Bach Tapestry

(416) 964-6337

Thu Feb 9, Fri Feb 10, Sat Feb 11 at 8pm, Sun Feb 12 at 3:30pm Trinity-St. Paul's Centre, Jeanne Lamon Hall Map

Tue Feb 14 at 8pm Toronto Centre for the Arts, George Weston Recital Hall Map

TTC Notice: St. Clair Station is closed due to a fire. Trains will travel straight through the station and not stop at St. Clair. Streetcar and buse service has been impacted too. Please plan your trip accordingly when travelling to Toronto Centre for the Arts. MORE INFO

Directed by Ivars Taurins

“Ivars Taurins…allowed the many internal voices to be heard clearly, letting the music loose when Bach’s spirit called for it.” – The Globe and Mail

Tafelmusik’s own Ivars Taurins has assembled a unique and truly vibrant musical tapestry of excerpts from J.S. Bach’s choral and orchestral music, both new and familiar. The second concert this season to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the Tafelmusik Chamber Choir, no Tafelmusik anniversary is complete without Bach!

The program includes spirited choruses from the Lutheran Mass in G Major, glorious chorales (including the beloved “Jesu, joy of man’s desiring”), and a brand new orchestral version of the sparkling Italian Concerto.

Pre-Concert Chats
All ticket holders are invited to attend our free Pre-Concert Chats at Trinity-St. Paul's Centre. Join us one hour before each performance to listen to David Fallis, Artistic Director of the Toronto Consort, discuss various aspects of the concert. The Chats will take place in the Gymnasium.

Download the Program Notes Download the Program Listing

A special note from harpsichordist Charlotte Nediger:

"Bach wrote the Italian Concerto for solo harpsichord, in imitation of a typical but imaginary Vivaldi concerto for strings, with solo violins. We decided to 'imagine' how the Italian string concerto in Bach's mind might have sounded. Ivars (my husband, choir director Ivars Taurins) and I sat down during the Christmas break and transformed the keyboard score into an orchestral score, assigning the existing music among the various instruments, and adding inner voices here and there as needed. It was a fun project! Even more fun was hearing it for the first time at the orchestra's first rehearsal. To our great relief, it works very well! Musicians chimed in with little tweaks to some of the added parts. And soloists Julia Wedman and Tricia Ahern sound great! We are very excited about introducing the new concerto to you, our audience."


Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Chorale “Sei Lob und Ehr” from Cantata 117**
  • Chorus “Aller Augen warten” from Cantata 23
  • Adagio e dolce from Trio Sonata BWV 527, arr’d 2 violins & continuo
  • Chorus “Christum wir sollen loben” from Cantata 121**
  • Chorus “Ihr werdet weinen” from Cantata 103**
  • Sarabande for solo harpsichord, from French Suite no. 5**
  • Kyrie & Gloria from Mass in G Major, BWV 236
  • Chorale “Jesu, bleibet meine Freude” from Cantata 147 (Jesu, joy of man’s desiring)


  • Chorus “Ach, Gott, wie manches Herzeleid” from Cantata 3**
  • Concerto in F Major for 2 violins & orchestra: arrangement of Italian Concerto, BWV 971**
  • Chorus “Christe, du Lamm Gottes” from Cantata 23
  • Chorale “Verleih’ uns Frieden” from Cantata 42**
  • Chorale “Wer hofft in Gott from Cantata 109**
  • Sinfonia from Cantata 196
  • Chorale “Und wenn die Welt“ from Cantata 80**
  • Cum sancto spiritu, from Mass in G Major, BWV 236
*Recorded by Tafelmusik
**First time performed on Tafelmusik stage
Concert run time: Approximately 2 hours including intermission.